Day 22: What does it take for you to DO IT?

Today is Sept. 15, 2016, my 22nd day in Myanmar.


14388908_1180519672007306_38283594_n
My view from the office | It’s a good day to be in Yangon

Some late-night office chitchat deepened my bond with one of my colleagues, a young Burmese woman, bright, intelligent, independent and content with life. She loves the city she’s from and lives in. She connects and enjoys spending time with her friends, old and new. She buys flowers and goes to bed with them at night to smell good the next morning. She oozes an energy that makes you think the world is a better place because she’s in it.

Couple lime juices later, we switched from light banter and harmless gossip to some decision I’ve been sitting on for a while, one potentially could, I guess you may say, slightly alter my outlook for the future. And the direction of our conversation took a turn to: what does it take for you to jump into something new and unexpected?

She’s a researcher, so for her, it boils down to research. A personal decision means its connection with careers and prospects. Pros and cons, costs and gains.

I’m not all intuition or nothing, per se, but I’m a more “this feels right” kind of person. And at one point during the conversation, I said: “I think I’m just open to let my experience direct and change me.”

It felt pretty great saying that.


I was going to share this story in my weekly roundup this weekend, but just could not wait any longer: 5 Ways Total Strangers Can Make Your Trip Better, a theme I’ve been reiterating in this blog of mine, is published on the NYT yesterday. For all your wanderlusts out there, a recommended good read.

And lime juice became my new go-to drink here in Yangon. Cheap and simply does not disappoint.

One thought on “Day 22: What does it take for you to DO IT?

  1. Sunday morning in Washington DC and just did a quick catch up of all your Myanmar blogs. Felt especially propelled to leave a comment under this one, as it brings back memories of our late night chats in Barcelona, of the inspiring unknown and the precious, childlike curiosity. Keep living and writing my friend. You are an inspiration to many.

    Like

Leave a Reply

