Day 50: Neither gloomy nor eventful

Today is Oct. 13, 2016, my 50th day in Myanmar.


img_4974

My personal experience has told me that when it comes to attempting to portray one’s life publicly and semi-accurately, as I’m doing with this blog, it’s easy to fall into a narrative that’s gloomier and more eventful than our actual lives can be.

For me, adopting these tones makes a lot of sense: of course I tend to record events that are more meaningful and neglect those that aren’t. And the kind of thoughts that I record in this blog are often the ones I feel somewhat hesitant to express to people in real life. (ironic much?)

Truth of the matter is, I’ve fallen into a very satisfying routine here in Myanmar, one that’s not very eventful and actually quite upbeat. I get up early in the mornings, walk to work and back. I go out every Friday night with a group of solid company. I eat fruits. I box and take Burmese class, neither as often as I wish.

In order to make a conscious effort to balance out the vibe of my diary, I want to list FIVE neither gloomy nor eventful things about living in Yangon that make me happy:

  • Flipflop is the national footwear in Myanmar because of the hot weather, the rainy season and the no-shoe policy in certain places (my office included). I’ve seen people wearing flipflops with longyis, with suits and dress pants, hell with everything! It is freeing never have to worry about whether open-toe shoes are appropriate, because they always are.
  • My company, Proximity Designs, moved into our brand new office. It’s a three-story building with great natural light and surrounded by greeneries. I love my work, my office, and feel really happy that this is where I get to spend (usually more than) a third of my days.
14658336_1205746046151335_936570202_n
#WhereIWork #SorryNotSorry
  • Temperature in Yangon recently dropped below 30C/86F. The high humidity is gruesome, and I still sweat my face off every morning walking to work, but I’m much more content with the weather finally cooling down.
  • Food in most Asian countries is quite cheap. Myanmar is no exception. I’ve been eating out every meal and the cost of doing so is honestly not more expensive than cooking, and it definitely has freed me from spending time to cook or do dishes after (which I consider the worst).
  • I have a support system in Yangon. It’s new, but I trust the people within this system and hope that they can let me rely on them when bad days come (fingers crossed). Besides, many of my friends are willing to travel internationally to see me. I feel extremely lucky to have all of them in my life.
Leave a Reply

